Enel Health®Atlas
Sign in
Enel Health®Atlas
Browse libraries

Not medical advice. The Atlas is not a substitute for a clinician who can examine you.

Costco Kirkland Probiotic

Mass-Value Multi-Strain (Perrigo-made)

Evidence grade 2 of 5, Thin. Read how the Atlas grades evidence.

2 human trials, about 4 studies, No product-specific. The written rationale for this grade is still being prepared.

FDA
Sometimes USP-verified
WADA
Not prohibited

Reference only. Not medical advice.

What can go wrong

No clinical trial exists on the finished Kirkland product itself; the supporting trials are on individual strains and were funded by the strain maker, so results are associated with those strains rather than proven for this product. Costco does not disclose the contract manufacturer, and USP verification is not confirmed for the probiotic, so potency and label accuracy rest on the manufacturer's own 'guaranteed to expiry' claim plus whatever independent lot testing a buyer trusts. Probiotics are generally well tolerated but are not appropriate self-treatment for a diagnosed condition; anyone who is immunocompromised, seriously ill, pregnant, or considering a probiotic for a child, for IBS, or for another medical condition should consult a qualified healthcare provider before starting rather than relying on a commodity label.

Costco's Kirkland Signature Daily Probiotic 30 Billion is a private-label commodity product: 90 delayed-release vegetarian capsules, 30 billion CFU per capsule, typically around 34 to 45 CAD, which puts cost per serving well below single-strain branded rivals such as Align. Costco does not name the contract manufacturer, and the popular claim that Perrigo makes it is unsourced. The label does, however, list named, trademarked UAS Laboratories strains, chiefly L. acidophilus DDS-1 and B. lactis UABla-12, which carry their own manufacturer-funded randomized trials in IBS and lactose intolerance. No trial has been run on the finished Kirkland product, so the honest position is a reasonable, low-cost general-support option whose strains have preliminary evidence and whose real consumer question is independent label-accuracy testing rather than any product-specific proof.

Common strains, reasonable doses, low price. Often the same factories as branded products.

What people take it for

These are the reasons people give for taking it. They are not effects it has been shown to have.

  • Everyday general digestive support at a low cost per serving
  • Value-conscious daily probiotic for people who do not need a condition-specific strain
  • A named-strain commodity option for those wanting DDS-1 or UABla-12 without paying single-strain brand prices

What people get wrong

  • Often saidStore-brand probiotics are anonymous generic-microbe blends with zero evidence.

    ActuallyCostco reports the current Kirkland Signature Daily Probiotic 30 Billion label carries named, trademarked strains, chiefly UAS Laboratories' L. acidophilus DDS-1 and B. lactis UABla-12, not unnamed cultures. Those strains have published randomized trials in IBS (Nutrients 2020, n=330) and lactose intolerance (Nutrition Journal 2016, n=38). The evidence is strain-level and manufacturer-funded, so it belongs to the strains, not to the finished Kirkland product.

  • Often saidKirkland probiotics are made by Perrigo, the same factory as branded products.

    ActuallyThe specific 'Perrigo makes Kirkland probiotics' claim is unsourced. Reporting on Kirkland supplements names different contract manufacturers for different categories, and Pharmavite (maker of Nature Made) is explicitly not the Kirkland manufacturer. Costco does not disclose the probiotic's maker. The accurate statement is only that Costco uses undisclosed third-party contract manufacturers, some of which also serve national brands.

  • Often saidA USP Verified mark on Kirkland vitamins covers the probiotic too.

    ActuallyUSP verification is documented for several Kirkland multivitamins (Daily Multi, Adult 50+ Mature Multi, adult gummies) but has not been confirmed for the Kirkland probiotic, which as sold internationally carries only a Health Canada NPN rather than a USP mark. Buyers who want verified potency should check the specific product's certification, not assume it transfers across the Kirkland line.

  • Often said30 billion on the label means 30 billion in the capsule you swallow.

    ActuallyIndependent testers such as ConsumerLab report that probiotic label accuracy varies across the category, with some products failing on viable-cell counts or contamination. Costco's separately branded trunature probiotics have been reported as meeting their listed billions in ConsumerLab testing, but that is a different product line; potency confirmation for a given Kirkland lot is a testing question, and 'guaranteed to expiry' is the manufacturer's own claim.

Who profits, and who pushes back

  • Strain-specificity researchers

    Pushes backProbiotic clinical-trial literature

    Effects in probiotics are strain-specific and dose-specific; a trial on DDS-1 at 10 billion CFU per day does not establish that a differently dosed multi-strain commodity capsule delivers the same benefit.

  • Manufacturer-funding skeptics

    Pushes backEvidence-appraisal standard

    Both supporting trials were funded by the company that owns and sells the strains; industry-funded probiotic studies more often report positive results, so the findings warrant independent replication before being treated as settled.

  • Independent supplement testers

    Pushes backThird-party lab testing (ConsumerLab-type)

    Probiotic label accuracy varies across the category, with some products delivering fewer viable cells than claimed; for any private-label probiotic the practical question is verified potency of the lot in hand, not the strain names on the panel.

  • Value-focused consumers

    Promotes itMass market

    Choose Kirkland for credible quality at commodity prices.

  • ConsumerLab-type testers

    Promotes itIndependent

    Have found Kirkland supplements (broadly) to be reasonable value with acceptable quality.

Where the research comes from

Most of the published research on this comes from one place. 82% of it is from USA. Findings that no unrelated group has reproduced are weaker than the study count makes them look.

Share of published research by country of origin.
PlaceShare of published research
USA82%
Other18%

Research published from: USA.

How we got here

Kirkland Signature is Costco's private label, launched in 1995 on a strategy of contracting established manufacturers to make goods sold at thin margins under one house brand. Private-label and contract manufacturing itself long predates the modern supplement aisle: guild and apothecary house-marks in China, the Islamic world and medieval Europe let a trusted seller vouch for goods a specialist actually made, and 20th-century store brands scaled that idea. In probiotics specifically, the raw material is often bought from dedicated strain houses; the DDS-1 strain on current Kirkland labels traces to Dr. S.K. Dash, who isolated it and founded what became UAS Laboratories (Wausau, Wisconsin) in 1979, a firm that openly supplies private-label and contract customers across North America, Europe, Asia, Australia, the Middle East and South America. Kirkland's probiotic reflects that supply chain: a house brand assembling a competent, named-strain formula at a commodity price rather than developing strains itself.

  1. 1979Dr. S.K. Dash founds what becomes UAS Laboratories and characterizes the L. acidophilus DDS-1 strain later seen on Kirkland probiotic labels
  2. 1995Costco consolidates its private-label goods under the Kirkland Signature brand
  3. 2016Pakdaman et al. publish a 38-person crossover RCT in Nutrition Journal reporting DDS-1 reduces lactose-intolerance symptoms versus placebo, funded by the strain maker
  4. 2020Martoni et al. publish a 330-person RCT in Nutrients: DDS-1 and UABla-12 improve IBS abdominal pain versus placebo, funded by UAS Laboratories
  5. 2020sKirkland markets Daily Probiotic 30 Billion and ProbioPlus using named UAS-family strains and delayed-release capsules at commodity pricing
  6. OngoingCostco does not publicly disclose the probiotic's contract manufacturer; third-party label-accuracy testing remains the open consumer question

At a glance

Strains
Common Lacto/Bifido
Dose
~5-10B CFU typical
Maker
Perrigo and others
Value
High for basic support

What this entry does not yet cover

What follows is unfinished work on our side, not a finding about Costco Kirkland Probiotic. A short entry is not a safe entry.

  • Cost and market. We have not documented what it sells for or who sells it.
  • Supply chain. We have not mapped where it is made.
  • Who uses it. We have not documented the user groups.
  • What could change. No forward-looking summary yet.
  • How it compares. We have not set it against the alternatives.
  • Children and teenagers. We have not checked what is known about younger people.

Sources